Pumpkin Soup with Chili and Ginger

wpid-wp-1445302189805.jpeg

While I’m staying home with BabyGirl, there is a lot of opportunity to watch daytime television.  There’s an unbelievable amount of talk shows on that follow a similar format.  The Talk, The View, The Chew, The Real

I was watching Clinton Kelly (of What Not To Wear fame) on The Chew when he demonstrated a Roasted Curried Pumpkin Soup that I thought sounded scrumptious.  I happened to have everything that it was calling for and happily headed into the kitchen to cobble it together. 

Well.. then I realized that I don’t have *EXACTLY* what I needed for the Curried Pumpkin Soup… so I improvised!

wpid-wp-1445302183361.jpeg

I didn’t have curry so I used chili powder and ginger instead.  I can’t have pumpkin without Nutmeg 🙂 The original recipe also called for a Granny Smith apple, but lacking that, I just threw in an apple that I had available to snack on.  It’s a new apple, but it’s akin to a honey crisp.  It’s not really intended for roasting, but it’s firm enough to hold up to it.  The carrots are from our last week’s CSA and I had half a giant onion from last week too.

I have never worked with pumpkin before, and normally wouldn’t attempt it, but I’ve gotten a lot more experience with squash lately.  It started with butternut, but now I’ve also had buttercup, spaghetti, and acorn squash too! They all have the same basic instructions–split in half, clean out the seeds, brush with oil, salt, and pepper and roast cut side down at 350 for 45 minutes. 🙂  So, to the pumpkin I go!  I think the hardest part about working with gourds is actually getting into them.  I went through a number of knives trying to figure this pumpkin out.

wpid-wp-1445302195187.jpegIn this case, a nice hearty steak knife turned out to be just the thing.  General purpose knives weren’t sharp enough. The serrated knife I tried first was too wimpy.  The steak knife cut at an angle, but it did the job!  I used a large metal serving spoon to scrape all the gunk out just like you’d do if you were carving a jack-o-lantern.

wpid-wp-1445302202787.jpeg

From there, I followed the rest of Clinton Kelly’s recipe for the how-to’s!  I roasted the pumpkin as I described above, then roasted the remaining freggies for about 20 minutes.  Then, I simmered everything in the pot until it was soft.

Now, I don’t have an immersion blender.  It’s on my list of kitchen gadgets to get, but it’s not currently in my tool shed.  Instead, I used my Ninja to get everything blended up.  I like “the real deal” and I’m more likely to use it so I topped the blended soup with sour cream instead of greek yogurt.

It was a mistake to garnish the soup with the “toasted” pumpkin seeds because we ended up having to pick them out.  The soup has really good flavor, too, but I’d want a way to add more protein because it’s not very filling at all.

Overall, though, it’s quite tasty, not too difficult to make, and a pretty comforting fall/winter meal 🙂

wpid-wp-1445302208015.jpeg

