Posted in Food, Life + Living, Recipe

Things to do with Over-ripe Bananas…

So, things have been absolutely crazy lately.  So, crazy, in fact, that I somehow managed to forget to eat my bananas =P Haha! Usually I just make smoothies or banana bread when the naners get over-ripe, but as fate would have it, my buddy Christy posted about this super easy way to use over-ripe bananas: banana-oatmeal-bites

 

We’ve also been kind of stressed out with wedding planning lately (76 days to go), especially now that we know what we need to have as far as finances are concerned.  Our solution is just to add Amaretto to everything, haha!  I did end up making banana bread this weekend and I spiked it with amaretto… we’ve been putting amaretto in pancakes and coffee lately so I figured we could put it into banana bread, too.  We usually put vanilla into our banana bread, with some apple pie spice, so I figured amaretto would be pretty delicious in it, too. It was. Nom.

2013-03-03_09-29-55_464

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.

6 thoughts on “Things to do with Over-ripe Bananas…

  1. I’m obsessed with turning overripe bananas into cookies. I’ve made over a dozen different variations, but the base is always two smashed bananas, a cup of oats (either quick or rolled), half a cup of applesauce, half a cup of peanut/almond butter, 1 tsp vanilla/almond extract and then whatever baking scraps I have around–nuts, chocolate chips, cocoa powder, dried fruit, chopped up apples, coconut shreds…the list goes on and on. If I want to make them into an after-gym snack (or even a breakfast cookie), I add up to one scoop of whey powder. Let the batter sit for about 20 minutes to thicken, and then pop in the oven. Delicious. My roommates go nuts over these.

    1. Oh goodness, that sounds like an awesome combo 🙂 I have some vanilla protein powder, but not sure if it’ll work. I’ll just have to try it out and let you know!!

  2. Get outta my head!!! No joke, I just pulled banana nut bread out of the oven about 5 minutes ago, sat down to catch up on my blogs and found this! I didn’t really want to make banana bread because it’s not the healthiest but couldn’t think of what else to do with my overripe bananas. These would have been so much healthier and easier to make. I’ll write it down for next time, thanks for the post 🙂

Comments are closed.