Posted in Life + Living

K.I.S.S. Me: I’ve got S.M.A.R.T. goals!

Okay, so the title is a bit cheesy, but I figure I’m entitled to a little bit of cheese if it makes for an entertaining take on the New Year’s Resolutions type of blog posts ūüėČ

I’ve spent a little bit of time thinking about some goals that I have for the year, but, usually the time that I’m taking to think about the goals is during the time that I’m actually doing something else entirely, so these aren’t really the in-depth type of resolutions that whole year-long goals deserve. ¬†Mostly, they’re observations of progress or improvement that I’d like to see in various areas of my life and minor goals I’m going to use to get there.

First, let me explain the abbreviations: K.I.S.S. – Keep It Simple, Stupid. ¬†Goals that are complex, complicated, confusing, or any other c-adjective that results in failure are a bad idea for me. ¬†I’ve tried counting calories, I get lost in the numbers and drive an all-or-nothing mentality.

S.M.A.R.T. – Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Time-bound. ¬†I’ve tried declaring “I’m going to do THIS (big-exciting-thing)” and had no follow-through on it. ¬†Or, I’ve followed through on the goal but the results were so pitiful as to be worth next to nothing.

My big un-measurable goals are usually to lose weight, save money, and get better at my job. ¬†Over the next few days, I’ll be breaking down those goals into SMART goals that follow the KISS method. ¬†They’re not going to be big and flashy or complicated, but they will be goals that I can attain.

So, what about you? ¬†Do you set new year’s resolutions, or do you dread the influx of resolutioners taking up the cardio equipment at the gym? ¬†Share your thoughts here, I’d like to see how other people take on new year’s and the proverbial clean slate.

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.

One thought on “K.I.S.S. Me: I’ve got S.M.A.R.T. goals!

Comments are closed.