Posted in Food, Life + Living

Happy Birthday, Ma!

2012-12-29_16-54-11_143

I hope all of you had wonderful holidays, whichever it is that you celebrate.  The list of 100 things I’m thankful for was queued up and pre-scheduled so that I could take the time to celebrate with my family without being distracted by writing up a blog entry.  After the Christmas festivities died down, my mom’s Birthday festivities started up.  Her birthday was on December 27th, and we made this year unforgettable.  It started with a record-converter from my brother and his girlfriend, hugs, kisses, and a ‘happy birthday’ wish from Papabear, followed by surprise flowers at work from me, then an edible arrangement from my sister and her family.  Today, we (my sister and I) whisked my mom away for a surprise day of complete and utter pampering.  We got leg massages, pedicures, manicures, facial waxing, and back massages.  We drank wine and caught up around my sister’s dining room table and enjoyed just being together.

sketched-wine

Then, we piled into the car and drove to dinner where she was surprised by most of her favorite people – Her husband, her kids and their significant others, her mom, and her friend Becca.  We had a family-style meal at Buca di Beppo and wrapped up the night with a giant brownie sundae (shared between all of us, but photographed to look like she finished it herself).  The whole time, she was never told the financial cost because no matter what the dollar amount adds up to, she’s worth every penny and it was so special that we could do this for her.

Happy Birthday, Mom, we love you.

20121229_19414320121229_194820

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Ma!

Comments are closed.