Posted in Emotional Eating, Food, Overeating

Happy Thanksgiving!

Here’s a blog from fellow blogger Gretchen.  Her feelings reflect mine perfectly, and, I’m not in much of a writing mood… so here you go 🙂 a ping-back for the lovely Ms. Gretchen:

http://honeyishrunkthegretchen.com/2012/11/21/holiday-mental-check/

I love holiday season. I love the festivities, I love the food (duh), and I love the general feelings of goodwill towards man that flow through the air from November through January. Everyone seems just a little friendlier, a littler more willing to say hi or lend a hand. Also, presents.

 

IMG_0266

 

But the holidays are also a time plagued with other issues for me. The constant, continual offerings of food and feasting, drinks and dessert, have been very conflicting for me in the past. I’m sure it’s far too generalizing to say that it’s an issue that anyone who has struggled with eating issues has had, but I’d venture to guess that it is. It’s very wearying to have a running battle inside your mind, pitting your wants and desires against each other.

Yes, I want to eat and be merry and have fun with my family. No, I don’t want to overeat and feel guilty and stuffed, or look like a pig. Yes, I want to be able to indulge in food that I usually only get to eat once a year. No, I don’t want to gain that holiday weight. Yes, I want to eat pumpkin pie. No, I’m not sure I’ll be able to stop at just one slice.

Read More: http://honeyishrunkthegretchen.com/2012/11/21/holiday-mental-check/

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

    1. We had a great weekend. For Thanksgiving (just for me, awe) Jeff’s Mom roasted a giant chicken and made mashed potatoes and gravy. It was a nice gesture on her part, but since it was a regular dinner, it was easier not to over-do it.

Comments are closed.