Menu Monday: Saffron

The cool thing about seeking counseling is that it doesn’t make you weird.  To prove it, I’m going to write a very NORMAL entry.  Well, aside from Saffron… a spice that is valued in tiny quantities, but dangerous in abundance.  This week, Jeff and I expanded our spicy horizons to include threads of Saffron.  We’ve been talking a lot about things that make us happy, things we enjoy doing as a couple.  One of the things that we really enjoy (time permitting) is cooking together.  While making the menu this weekend, I came across a recipe for “Spanish Chickpea, Tomato, and Kale Stew.”  Interesting.. I thought..

  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/4 tsp saffron threads

Oop.. this recipe is out.. Saffron.  Who just has saffron sitting around in their pantry? *scoff*

  • 2 tsp EVOO
  • 1 onion (chopped)
  • 1 bell pepper (chopped)
  • 2 garlic cloves (minced)Wonder how much saffron costs.. I’ve got most of the rest of these ingredients.. 
  • 2 tbsp minced fresh oregano
    I’ve got dried..I’m sure that’ll do.. 
  • 1 tbsp smoked or regular paprika
  • 4 cups chopped fresh kale
    HUZZAH! Finally a way to use that bunch that we bought “for smoothies” that’s about to wilt in the crisper drawer…
  • 1/4 cup sherry
    One for you, one for me *glug*  Wait, what is sherry?  Do they sell that at the grocery store?  I’m probably going to have to go to the liquor store.. ugh. OOh! Maybe I can buy some vodka at the same time.  Maybe this recipe isn’t such a lost cause…
  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup reduced-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt

So yeah, reading through the recipe I waffled a couple times on whether we could actually pull this recipe off.  I’d LOVE to show you a picture of our masterpiece all pretty in our matte black bowls… but guess who forgot to go to the liquor store?  Ha. Guess that means we can’t re-enact any scenes from My Drunk Kitchen (Pizza, unlike old coca-cola is best served flat!)

Anyway.. after mulling over the stew recipe (combine saffron + water, set aside, heat onions and bell pepper in the oil until onions start to soften, then stir in all seasonings including saffron-water, add kale and cook, stirring constantly, until either you or the kale are wilted.  Add sherry–to the stew, not your mouth, and cook until almost all the liquid is gone.  Add everything else and bring to a boil.  Cover, then reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally for about 30 minutes.)  The actual recipe in all of its lovely entirety can be found in the Weight Watchers Points Plus Power Foods Cookbook: 200 Simple & Satisfying Recipes book, on page 188. Copyright Weight Watchers International, Inc. 2011.

The rest of our menu is pretty straight forward with nothing nearly as exotic as saffron stew.  It’s got things like salmon, spaghetti, and meatloaf on it.. The good news, though, is that I was able to organize my cupboard in my quest for recipe ingredients.  Isn’t it pretty?

Yeah.. it’s probably wrecked by the time you’re reading this… >_>

7 thoughts on “Menu Monday: Saffron

    1. MegsFitness

      Hehe, well, you’re the exception 🙂 care to share the recipe since I now have a tic-tac box of Saffron and only one recipe to use it with?

      1. Rachel

        Lol, good luck cooking with it. And yeah, I don’t have saffron either… Usually I just sub turmeric instead… Cheaper… Sort of like prosecco instead of champagne. And Christmas saffron bread sounds amazing!

      2. MegsFitness

        I don’t have tumeric, either XD These exotic spices are all new to me. Salt, pepper, and garlic. Thats what I know. Cumin and cayenne are starting to become familiar. Saffron and tumeric are completely new to me.

      3. Rachel

        I lost your address… Or more, i used your letter as a coaster and the return address got all washed out… Give it to me and I will send you some turmeric. I bought a pound of it wholesale and had no idea how much a pound is lol… I will never use it all! I think I am a spice nut. I love fun favors and new recipes (and Indian food-my healthy staple, if you like Indian food I can give you some good recipes).

Comments are closed.