A picture is worth 1000 words. This must be a 6k word entry…

TL:DR – I’ve been busy. Scroll through pictures 🙂

[On the subject of expanding my gaming know-how]
I did some World Vs. World Vs. World last night with a few guys from the guild (Yezhik, Starry, Krew). I didn’t die nearly as often as I usually do. I die often enough, though, that I’ve proposed a story idea to Hellrazor entitled “Leveling as a lowbie: oops I died.” I pitched it as a humour piece using a format of either “dear diary” type entries or straight up story-telling. I’ve been mulling it over for a bit but I’m just not sure yet where I want to go/start with that. I think it’ll definitely include the time that I grouped up with Fibbi to “go exploring” and I got bit by a mosquito and it got me TKO with one hit. Better get some better repellent.

[On balancing gaming vs. studying vs. other stuff]

My schedule has been pretty saturated lately.  I get up around 6:30-7am, go work out, work work work, come home, cook dinner, study from about 6-9pm and from 9-11pm I’ve been playing GW2.  This is why I haven’t been blogging @_@;  Tonight, I got home at 7 from work, and I’ve been studying ever since.  No GW2 today… It’s 11:27 and I have to be at work early tomorrow for career-based training.  It’s a GOLD course on Facilitating Effective Meetings.  So far, I’ve picked up a few strategies for gathering information, synthesizing data, narrowing topics, and making decisions.  The end of the course today involved an hour and a half about how to build a meeting agenda that really defines what is going to be accomplished, lays out roles, and identifies the tools that will be used in each portion of the meeting.  The instructor is just great.  Her name is Candyce Penteado and she actually owns her own business in corporate training and leadership.  http://www.thepeopleside.net/candyce-penteado

So I have that to look forward to tomorrow…

[On college stuff]

I’ve been hitting the books pretty hard, too.  The Accounting class that I am taking has an excellent tool from McGraw Hill that lets me practice creating balance sheets, t-charts, adjustments etc. without it being scored.  The testing program on there, too, is pretty helpful.  Instead of just blinding going forth and filling in what you expect the answers to be based on your careful study of the curriculum, you can actually select a link that lets you check your answer.  I don’t know how other people use this tool, but, for me it means two things: 1) I can learn in the last stages of the coursework because I can fill in the blanks with how I *think* it works and be shown that it just does *not* work. That makes me revisit my strategies, make changes, and try again until I get it right.  2) I pass every test with 100% because I don’t quit until it’s right.

Tonight in my Business Management course, I started reading about Ethics/Decision Making and thought that with a good moral compass that I’d be able to face any decision that came up because obviously it would be clear cut.  Then they throw the hypothetical trolley incident at me:

“A runaway trolley is heading down the tracks towards five unsuspecting people. You’re standing near a switch that will divert the trolley onto a siding, but there is a single workman on the siding who cannot be warned in time to escape and will almost certainly be killed. Would you throw the switch?”

Do you think you have the answer?  Was it “yes” because the lives of many are greater than the life of one?  According to The New York Times, if you answered this way then you’re in the good company of 97% of respondents. Now consider the following:

“Now, what if the workman were standing on a bridge over the tracks and you would have to push him off the bridge to stop the trolley with his body in order to save the five unsuspecting people? (Assume his body is large enough to stop the trolley and yours is not.) Would you push the man, even though he would most likely be killed?”

Wut.  I think, personally, I would freeze and not know WHAT to do!  In that type of instance, you need to have your ethics and actions ingrained so deeply that your reaction is instinctual.  The more time I have to think about it, the more time I have to think about “what if the workman is Jeff?  What if the five on the tracks are thugs looking for things to spray paint?”

The good news is that my assignment is not to actually answer this question.  It is used as a tool to illustrate that not all ethical dilemmas are cut-and-dry.  Tomorrow, I’m looking forward to reading about strategies for decision making including the utilitarian approach (for the greater good), individualism approach, moral-rights approach, justice approach, and virtue ethics approach.  It should be intriguing for sure.

[On working out]

I don’t have a great transition from ethics to working out.  If you made it this far, we’re now going to look (briefly) into my fitness update.  I don’t think I’ve lost any weight.  I blame it on sweets (still, always).  I am, however, making strides in my strength training.  I’m actually getting calluses on my hands.  The above is my attempt at showing you my calluses, but I’m realizing they didn’t actually show up, lol.  Basically, I did/do the following 1-2x/week in addition to another routine:

[2x, 30 second break in between]

  1. Plank on a balance ball, 0:00:45

[4 rounds, 6x reps per]

  1. squats, 35lb dumb bell
  2. overhead press, 2x 20lb dumb bells
  3. cable cross-over pulldowns, 25.7 lb
  4. RDL, 55lb barbell
  5. static lunges, 2x 15lb dumb bells
  6. incline push-ups
  7. single-arm farmer’s carry

I’d say any calluses are well-earned at that point 🙂

[About Wedding Stuff]

Wedding planning stuff is coming along great 🙂 I think a lot of people might be critical of me for getting things done so far in advance (the wedding date isn’t until May), but the way that I see it–the more I can get done now, the less I have to do in the weeks leading up to the wedding.  I want to savor the process as much as possible and that means reducing stress prior to the event.  It’s supposed to be fun, so I’m trying to space stuff out.  Jeff is interested in invitations so I’ve been working on that when I find a few minutes, but the leaves on the trees are starting to change so photography got bumped up in front of invitations.  While we were in Colorado, we also picked out some awesome tuxes to rent from Men’s Warehouse.  All in all… he’s probably feeling overwhelmed, but I am feeling accomplished about the progress.

[Kittehs!]

Last but not least are the furbutts.  Toby had a round of illness recently that set us back another few hundred dollars but we’re hoping that his eye issues are finally cured.  We’ve got rounds of eye-drops to run for about a week or so and then we’re actually going to start both of the cats on an anti-histamine regimen.  We joke that Taz is allergic to cats because he’s sneezing all the time and Toby has been absolutely miserable since we moved and we’re thinking that he’s got allergies triggered by the woods that we now live so close to.  They’re both indoor cats, but with the number of windows that we have here, and the acres of woodland that we have now compared to the more urban environment that we were in before… I’m just thinking that they have allergies acting up.  Our vet made a good recommendation that should cost less than $10/month and make both of the cats more comfortable.

Now all I need is someone to photoshop a cheeseburger in front of Toby’s mouth, lol…

4 thoughts on “A picture is worth 1000 words. This must be a 6k word entry…

  1. rachel

    I think doing your invitations ahead is great. Just make sure you buy forever stamps 🙂 or you might be adding silly looney toon $0.02 stamps with your pretty dovey lovey ones. And I love your GW2 pictures. It helps me live vicariously through as I have a horribly game addictive personality and would probably play to the detriment of my whole family. Hope the furballs are ok after the medication.

    1. Good call on the Forever Stamps idea. I was reading an article on the offbeatbride.com website and someone actually had that happen to them 😦 Sad day!

      Awe, thanks for the GW2 love. I totally understand the addictive qualities of gaming… it’s hard to walk that line.

      Toby is getting better every day, too, so thanks for the good wishes.

  2. Gretchen @ Honey, I Shrunk the Gretchen!

    My entire life right now is blogging, working, and GW2. Denge of Henravi ftwwwww 😉 ❤ it!!!

Comments are closed.