Posted in Uncategorized

The Feminine Miss Geek

Full disclosure: I have not read A Song of Fire and Ice. I know, I know, I should. And I will at some point. Maybe after the show has ended. But this post is to address an article by a woman who has clearly not read the books either, so we’re on equal ground. Also, don’t spoil anything for me in the comments, kay?

What article am I talking about? Ann Marie Rasmussen of the Huffington Post penned an article criticizing the women in the HBO series Game of Thrones as being little more than tired sexist archetypes. Go ahead and give it a read. She does raise a few interesting points about how women are portrayed in both literature and Hollywood. However, when it comes to the women of GoT, she misses the point by a mile. Spoilers for both seasons of GoT ahead!!

View original post 548 more words

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.