blogging on the fly

Or, Blogging on the Phone, whichever, really. I’m ensconced in my comfy couch thinking “I really should blog…” But at a loss of what to write about.

Over the weekend, I went biking with my sister. We tried to hit some muddy trails, but I soon realized that my road bike was no match for the mud and the trees and the rocks. She was generous, though and we just moved our ride onto the paved paths. Afterwards we went grocery shopping together. She is much more into the healthy eating routine than I am. Of course, her grocery bill was more than twice as high. It was interesting to talk to her about menu planning and healthy eating.  I think without trying, her diet is on the Paleo spectrum.  It would be interesting, now that I think about it, to ask her if that was intentional.

On Sunday, we went to our friend Jay’s house for his annual Memorial Weekend Party.  The skies opened and poured rain and hail down, the winds howled, Jay’s basement flooded… and it was basically a bust.

We missed the main event on Saturday because Jeff and I were having a blast at home playing Worms Armageddon with my brother and his girlfriend. Literally four hours went by before we knew it–and we were just laughing almost the entire time.

We also visited my Grandfather’s grave to remember his sacrifices to his country, and to honor his memory.  My sister and I “told him” about our current relationships and our weddings.  My grandma said few words.  My mom asked for advice about how to carry on in her current situations.  The emotions ran the gamut from laughing to crying and back again.  When we were through ‘visiting’ we had lunch and chatted more with each other about our lives.  It was really nice to spend some time with the women of our family, and I think that we were brought just a little closer by our shared experience.

“This is what it looks like when the one that always gave the best advice becomes silent …..i miss you” Mom, to her late step-dad

This week, it’s back to cooking at home and trying to work out.  I injured my back with the 1st workout in for-ev-er.  It still hurts today, even though in the past 10 days, I have used heat therapy, massage therapy, traditional bed rest, the works!  I think I just need more rest?  But I want to get back into the gym too… who knows.

I am still battling my sugar addiction/cravings.  I’m looking into books on the matter to see if any of them will help.  Jeff suggested that I try drinking more water and brushing my teeth with cinnamon toothpaste during the day.  The problem is that mint+chocolate tastes good to me, so brushing/flossing my teeth hasn’t worked in the past.

So there you go 🙂 An update with a bit of everything.  It isn’t the usual caliber that one would expect with a blog that has been thought out before-hand, but I’m okay with these conversational entries.  For me, it makes me feel more connected.

I hope that you enjoy my blog 🙂 I promise to post more food + fitness entries later this week.

