Posted in Emotional Eating, Food, Overeating

How many no’s do you have?

The Snackbar sits kitty-corner behind my desk and has a multitude of goodies and snacks for $0.50 to $0.75 each.  I have to pass it every time I go to my desk, every time I leave my desk, and I have to hear the change dropping into the tray every time someone else makes a purchase:

I have literally gained four pounds since my desk got moved into such close proximity to the snack bar.  I know what you’re thinking, because I’m thinking the same thing: “Why can’t you just say no?”  I say no.  In the morning when I come in.  On my morning break both when I walk-away-from and return-to my desk.  At lunch, both directions.  

In the afternoon, it lurks behind me like a… thing that lurks.  Like something just beyond the field of vision but you know that it’s there. Did you know, that there have been studies regarding willpower?  The studies show that there is a limit the amount of will power each person has, and, like a flexed muscle, it is subject to fatigue.  Saying no, not just to food, but to any sort of temptation takes strength training.  Eventually, though, you just give in because you cannot keep any muscle flexed forever.  [http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/09/your-money/09shortcuts.html]  [http://lifehacker.com/5832539/how-decision-fatigue-zaps-your-willpower-and-what-you-can-do-about-it]

It makes me wish for days of yore when if something was not in my direct line of sight, it does not exist. As part of this out-of-sight-out-of-mind theme, I have asked the managers to move the snack bar out of the regular cubicle area… I am sure that I am not the only one with this problem.  I think they are considering putting it in the break room so that it is still in a high-traffic area, but not so in-your-face as to be where it is currently.  If they do that, then I will only have to fight the occasional temptation.  Like this doughnut that I found up for grabs in the kitchen when I went to wash my bowl from lunch:

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.