Posted in Food, New Food, Recipe

Day 1: Crock Pot Enchiladas

Nothing a little cheese can't fix...

Jeff made crock pot enchiladas today and the end result was absolutely fabulous.  Seriously, whoever thought of this idea is a genius.  The consistency of the tortillas was chewy in a good way, except for on the back of the crock pot where they got a little scorched.  Fun Fact: I can never remember how to spell scorched.  I always add extra frivolous letters and end up spelling it skortched or schortched or skorched… Maybe it’s because scorched just doesn’t look like the letters are strong enough to make the sounds when we say it outloud… hm… 

Moving on–much like lasagna or brownies, I liked the scorched bits.  I think that the next time we make this (if I make it, that is), I will add more veggies and I will omit the ground beef.  The beef was good, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t think it added much to the dish aside from being an expected part of the meal.  Jeff slathered this stuff with cheese.  At first, I raised my eyebrows at him (trying to eat healthier, no?) but seriously? Extra cheese was extra good.  And a girl needs her calcium, right???

I give this dish two thumbs up, a clean plate, and a recommendation that you go put this on your menu asap!

NOTE: This made 16 enchiladas.  Unless you have company, you *will* have left-overs.  Plan accordingly.

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.