Posted in Life + Living

Keeping busy

I have been absolutely absorbed by The Hunger Games.  Hasn’t everyone recently, though?  I first caught wind of The Hunger Games back when I was a regular on Sparkpeople.com  My fitness buddy Courtney mentioned it and turned our friend Victoria on to the series.  They were clamoring over how great it was, but seeing as how we were all on a dieting website and the book was called “The Hunger Games” I figured it was a pretty damn big cue to steer clear.

Then I learned who Katniss Everdeen was… And I have not looked back.

In a way, I used the trailers for the movie as a trailer for the book.  I love to read the books that movies are based off of.  Usually it leads to shattering disappointment when the movie fails to meet the expectations set by the book, but with a preview like this, how could they go wrong?

[3 minutes later…]

So yes… Somewhere between the stress of work, the excitement of people getting promoted, the responsibility to help my mom prepare to move, the fretting over taxes and our own scheduled move, writing critical reviews for my classmates and researching my own paper, I have found time to finish 2 out of 3 of The Hunger Games books.  So glad I did.

Tonight I was going to take a crack at the 1st draft of my English paper, but I’ve since realized that it’s already after 10pm and I have to be up bright and early…

As long as I have it done by Saturday at Midnight, I’ll be okay.  Whether I’m talking about the 3rd Hunger Games book or my English paper… Well, even I don’t know.

 

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.

2 thoughts on “Keeping busy

  1. hey hey hey, *I* started the hunger games craze lol. I read it like 2 years ago. 🙂 Glad you are enjoying it! It was such a well-written series. You should read “Divergent” next– similar concept with the dystopian society. I almost enjoyed it more than THG!

    1. Thanks for the book recommendation! Lol the reason Court got credit for starting the frenzy is because it was her chatting w/ you about it that got me into it. It was kind of a chicken-or-the-egg situation for me… I knew you both knew about it before me, but I didn’t know who knew first! 😀

Comments are closed.