Posted in Emotional Eating, Life + Living, Self-Reflection

Willpower: A Limited Commodity

I have learned that people only have a very limited supply of willpower.  As an example, I find that I have just enough willpower (on average) to do one of the following:

a) Work Out
b) Eat Right
c) Save Money

The problem comes when I want to do all of the above but the will power just isn’t there to impose hidden-option-d.

I cannot be the only one with this problem and so I have started to take a look at how I can possibly get a booster pack for my will power.  I’ve taken a look at my patterns and habits and it comes as no surprise that I am an emotional eater–more often than not I’ve been a stress eater.  Crunchy (stress relieving) potato chips, comforting tater tots, soothing hamburgers, calming ice cream… Rather than enjoying foods for their taste or their nutritional benefit I am seeking them to assauge whatever emotion that I just don’t want to deal with anymore.

As any emotional eater knows, though, the feeling of stress-relief, comfort, peace only lasts as long as the food does, and so it’s an endless cycle.

I have kind of unofficially officially stopped going to Weight Watchers.  That lasted a while, eh?  I know it’s not supposed to be about the leader but sitting around singing kumbaya and giving applause to those who have figured out how to do it right.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again now (and probably still not follow through with it) I think that in order for me to lose weight, I’m going to need counseling, not a personal trainer.  Or maybe both.

A lot of the reason why I haven’t followed up on the counseling idea is because of the cost and the commitment and the fear that the person I find to talk to will be just as hokey and unhelpful as my leader ended up being at WW.  I don’t want someone to give me doe-eyes while tilting their head and asking me how I feel.  Doesn’t that feel just as awkward to them as it does to me?  It makes my skin crawl just thinking about it.

So, I’ve branched out.  For about an hour while I was waiting for Jeff at the book store I perused the self-help section.  I found 50 Ways to Soothe Yourself Without Food.  It’s from the same folks who brought you Eating Mindfully, which is probably a title I should check out as well.

I know you’ve noticed a slow-down in the frequency of blogging, and I’ve definitely noticed a slow-down in the frequency of my fitness, shopping, and cooking.  I’m just not on it right now and eating a bowl of Cheesy Munchies is easier than admitting that I just need some help.  The book is due back at the library next month.  In the mean time, I’ve checked out Food: The Good Girl’s Drug | How to Stop Using Food to Control Your Feelings. I hope it helps.

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.

2 thoughts on “Willpower: A Limited Commodity

  1. Obviously a great WW leader is a perk, but you’re right in that it isn’t going to be a magic pill to help us lose the weight. I had to “shop” around, so to speak, before I found a WW leader who wasn’t annyoing, and who actually cares to help me succeed. She emails me weekly just to check-in, and I really thrive on that. I want to make her proud, ya know? I understand if WW Isn’t for you, but I also think you could maybe give it more of a chance if you “shopped” around for a different leader to help you understand this journey. In a lot of ways, I feel like my WW leader is like a therapist to me because she GETS how hard it is. That helps me stay motivated, for the most part anyway. Just a thought!

    I too, suffer from emotional eating. Let me know any interesting little nuggets you pick out of those books. I usually find self-help books hokey, but if they’re worth a read, let me know! Best of luck, Megs. I know you have it in you to kick butt, and I hope that you find that as well.
    Tori

    1. Thanks Tori – I know you’ve always got my back. I haven’t shopped around for a new leader yet, but that’s a good idea. Work has been ridiculous this week, but I’m hoping it’ll turn around next month.

Comments are closed.