Posted in Fitness, Food, Life + Living, Recipe, Self-Reflection

Pork and Porky


The obvious answer is that, no, a hammer is not the right tool for the job when it comes to sweet potatoes–Seriously, though, when I first starting working with sweet potatoes, I admit to taking a hammer to the crappy knife I was using.  These days, I have a much nicer knife at my disposal: It’s a Shun Pro Nikiri knife that my roommate splurged for a couple years ago.  It’s not in the budget right now, but I might put that on our wedding registry 🙂 it’s a NICE knife..

Pot Roast with Garlic and Sweet Potatoes

And with it, I made quick work of the potatoes, the onions, the garlic… If I hadn’t been stopping to take pictures, it would have come together in 15 minutes tops. Accidental discovery: I used steel wool to scrub the sweet potatoes and afterwards, it was not necessary to peel them. I loved the amount of time I saved.

This is one of those meals that I kept simple and let the flavors speak for themelves.  Keeping things simple in round 1, makes it easier to re-use the left-overs for round 2.  I put onion and garlic in the bottom of the roaster, put the pork-roast in the middle, and then snuggled the sweet potatoes in beside. I put more minced garlic on top of the pork-roast so that the flavor could run down and mingle with all of the other flavors

Bloggity

So, if you’re here for the food portion of my blog, that’s about it for now. Thanks for stopping by, hitting the subsribe button, following a pin, etc.

Now, on to self reflection!!!

My fiance texted me a picture that he had snapped of me one of these (fairly recent) days. I was aghast! Maybe it was the fuzzy pajama pants, maybe it was foreshortening, maybe it was a harsh reality that I do not want to accept, but all I saw in that picture was just big. Big pink-and-white-fuzzy-pajama swathed me. Fast asleep. Now, I was embarrassed enough to blush and ashamed at how I looked and just wishing I could make the picture go away. But then I took a deep breath, and calmed myself down a bit…. and I texted him back.

Me: So, what do you see when you look at that picture?
Jeff: I took it a few days ago, when you were sleeping 🙂
Me: […] I said what do you see when you LOOK at it?
Jeff: Adorable. Fuzzy Toby [our cat], Fuzzy blankie, fuzzy pants.

And I knew that if we were in person, he would have that loving grin on his face that radiates to me “you’re too stinkin cute!”

That helped me to take a step back and stop looking for all the imperfections in the photo and criticizing how huge my … looked and how I hate xyz. I looked at how peaceful I looked. How I was snuggled with the blanket the way I would’ve snuggled with Jeff had we been sleeping instead of me just napping in the middle of the afternoon. How the cat decided that I had a great idea and nestled into a little fuzzy purr-bucket against the middle of my back. He saw his family, there, not a porky! If only I could learn to see myself through his eyes 100% of the time.

If I delete every photo of me that I think is unflattering, I’m not just hiding evidence of my weight, I’m deleting memories from people who cherish them–myself included. So no, I’m not perfect yet, and yes, I still shrink from the camera-lens some days… but part of my “journey” (so overused..but what other word is there?) is to accept myself for who I am, how I am, every day. Because, little by little, I’m realizing that if I am not happy in life where I am, being skinny will not make me any happier.

Today’s goal is to get 8 hrs of sleep. As long as I shut my eyes within an hour, I should just make it 🙂

And as a bonus feature (if you read this far) here is why the pics of the food are always close-cropped, lol:

Reality
Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.