What happens when you try to do too much?

What happens when you try to be a part time student, full time employee, wedding planner, blogger, house cook and still find time to workout?

Don’t worry, it’s a multiple choice quiz!

Your dinner gets left in nature's refrigerator overnight
Your white bean chicken chili turns red and gets left in nature's refrigerator overnight?
ergonominon.com
You walk and work?
http://wouldbewritercantcook.blogspot.com/2011/08/reading-harry-potter-with-my-mom-harry.html
you study WHILE working out?
http://www.cakewrecks.com
You spend at least as much time on pinterest and cakewrecks as you do on business and english?

Well, if you choose the hidden answer “All of the above” you would be correct.  Yesterday was quite a challenge.  I forgot to make dinner before I scrambled off to work so I snuck home on my lunch break to try to make the white bean chicken chili that I featured in my menu monday post.  The thing is, that stupid recipe calls for a full bird and cooking things in the slow cooker for 2 hours and then changing things…..  I looked at that recipe and then promptly rolled my eyes, crumpled the paper and threw it over my shoulder.  I threw together Megan’s Red White Bean Chicken Chili:

Megan's Red White-Bean-Chicken-Chili

1 large sweet onion
1/2 head garlic (minced, pressed, however you like it)
4oz can green chili’s
1 can pinto beans
28oz crushed tomato’s with basil (canned)
1 can chicken broth (+1 can water, or another can broth if desired)
5 boneless skinless chicken breasts
Chili Powder, salt, pepper … I just sprinkled it on until I liked the color 🙂 be liberal if you like seasonings or go sparingly if you want the ingredients to speak for themselves.

Directions: dice the onions, peel and press the garlic, open all the cans and combine all ingredients into a crock-pot. When I added the chicken, the breasts were still frozen so I just let them hang out in the pot until everything was done, and then we shredded the chicken and returned it to the pot.

Prep time: 15-20 minutes  (less if you have fancy kitchen tools)
Cook time: 6 hrs on high

Now, I’ve got to throw my hair in a not-so-business-professional ponytail and fly off to work.  Phew! 8 minutes ahead of schedule… maybe I can fit in some more studying…

