Posted in Fitness, Food, Recipe, Strength Training, Uncategorized, Weight Watchers

Banana Bread Muffins

Today is one of those days where work was crazy.  I was practically sprinting to the gym after work this afternoon to blow off the stress of the day.  I warmed up with a Cumbia routine using Zumba for the Wii.  I quickly discovered that the expert level on the Wii is nothing compared to the Zumba classes that I go to.  Hehe… I have moves!

Once warmed up, I made it through my Phase 2 workout without any troubles.  Well, without any REAL troubles.  It’s been about a week since I’ve done strength training and so I had to scale the weight back on the deadlift-rows and the flies.  I rocked out when it came to the squats and the walking lunges, though.  Feel the burn!  I am loving this work out so far.

When I got home, dinner was not as expected and so Jeff and I made the executive decision to go to Wendy’s for dinner.  That may not sound like the smartest choice ever, but the alternatives were cereal (unappealing) or Pineda Taco (cannot even be disguised as healthy).  I ordered a 1/2 salad and a small fry and called it good.  Dinner was 11 points and I’ve used 40/35 today.  I earned 10 points with my work-out, though, so I’m still satisfied. I need to learn to track BEFORE I eat to make sure that I’m staying on plan.

Sometimes life gets the best of you though, and you forget to eat the good foods you bought.  Perhaps you spotted the brown bananas on my counter in the last entry?  Rather than throw them out, I rolled up my sleeves and made banana bread. … muffins.

The original recipe is pretty straight-forward, but I wanted to try my hand at healthifying it.  I substituted whole wheat flour for half of the flour called for.  I reduced the oil by 1/3 of a cup.  I cut the sugar in half.

Banana Bread Muffins

1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup oil –> Make it even healthier by using apple sauce
2 eggs
3 bananas – Very Ripe
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup milk
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose (white) flour

Mix ingredients together, taking care to mash up the banana.  Pour into a greased loaf pan or greased muffin tins (note: I used high-yeild canola oil spray).  Bake at 350° F for about half an hour (note: muffins bake faster so keep an eye on them.  These took about 17 minutes).  Test a banana bread loaf with a butter knife or test muffins with a toothpick–it should come out clean.

Makes 1 1/2 dozen muffins.  [3 points per muffin on Weight Watchers Points Plus]

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.

3 thoughts on “Banana Bread Muffins

  1. I’ve got into a good habit of tracking everything I eat the night before. Before I go to bed, I make my breakfast, lunch, and get my snacks all together and then add them into eTools so I know what I have to work with for dinner/night snacking. Doing this, most of the time I definitely stick to it. If it’s already tracked, I don’t want to have to delete it and then enter something else, ya know? Some nights I just don’t feel like doing any of this, in which case resorts to me going to somewhere like Chipotle for lunch lol.

    The banana muffins look yummy! I hate baking, so I’ll have to live vicariously through your post! 🙂

    1. Have you tried the WW Barcode scanner? I love it. Plus, the calculator that comes with it synchs right to the e-Tools. I like your idea of packing and tracking the night before. I’ve done well with packing and tracking in the a.m, but it’s the night-time snacks that get to me.

      1. Yep, definitely love the scanner! So cool. Though it seems a lot of the foods I’ve scaned aren’t in there. 😦 Wah wahhh.

        Yeah, when I’m tracking the night before, I usually leave 5-10 points for evening snacking open because I know it’s inevitable! 🙂

Comments are closed.