Gumbo!

Tonight, I made slow-cooker-chicken-gumbo based on this recipe from: FoodNetwork.

What’s exciting about this recipe is that I get to add a New Food to the list!  This recipe calls for Okra.  Now, I live in the Mid-west… Therefore, you should not be surprised that I am 25 years old and just now discovering Okra.  It was weird!  I bought it frozen and had to thaw it out per the recipe instructions and when I went to chop it up, it was slimy, and I thought that was rather unpleasant.  It was wonderful in the actual recipe, though.

The seasonings were really good, too.  It had combinations I would not have thought to use.  For example, it had onion powder even though there’s onion in the ingredients list.  There’s also mustard powder on the list and I didn’t picture that at all.  One thing that was on the list that I didn’t have was Cayenne Pepper… My solution? I just doubled the amount of black pepper instead.

Everybody in the pot!

I got all the ingredients into the crock pot and set it to cook on high for about 4 hours.  The recommendation is to cook it on low for longer, but I was pleased with the results.  When it was almost done, I mixed up some brown rice to serve it over.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Gumbo!

  1. Tori

    Looks super tasty. I, too, have never tried okra… What does it taste like?

    I’m trying a recipe for lasagna soup this week… Super excited! I will let you know how it turns out.

    1. The taste of Okra is pretty difficult to describe. I guess texture-wise it was very similar to the cooked celery that was in there.. flavor-wise, it was pretty close to green beans? If you’ve never had it, the internet recommends trying it fried first, but I think it was fabulous in this Gumbo dish 🙂

Comments are closed.