Posted in Food, New Food, Recipe

Experimental Pizza Night: Apple Wood Smoked

So once Mr. and Mrs. Roomie left the house, I set to work cleaning the kitchen.  There were a lot of dishes to do because the roomies have been cooking these past few weeks and Rah-rah and I have been out of town, too busy, too lazy, and myself–too sick to put in the effort.  So.. I threw on some music and just got down to business.  Luckily we have an awesome dish washer that does a great job… While that was running I did two sinks full of pans and scrubbed my cast iron skillet.  

On a side note… I’m watching “The Next Iron Chef” at the moment, and it’s freakin’ sweet!  I really hope Robert Irvine goes all the way through to the Finale…

For dinner tonight, Rah-rah and I decided to go rogue and make a home-made pizza.  I rolled out my family’s pie-crust recipe for the crust and grabbed some pasta sauce from the cupboard while Rah-rah fried up the bacon in a skillet and shredded the cheese.  I was really excited about the flavors that we had to work with.  Tonight’s theme was “Apple wood smoked.”  We had apple wood smoked bacon and apple wood smoked gouda cheese.  We paired it with a Spicy Red Pepper Classico pasta sauce, green pepper and part-skim mozzarella cheese.  

Since we haven’t done this before, we weren’t sure if the pie-crust as pizza-crust was such a good idea.  I’m thinking that it MIGHT work better next time if we tweak it a little, but tonight it didn’t cook up as expected and it had too much of a flour-flavor instead of a nice bread.  I think the toppings, though, more than made up for it.  I know that Trader Joe’s sells a good pre-made pizza dough that we may use the next time we want to make our own pizza. 


Apple Wood Smoked Pizza
Ingredients:
– Pizza Crust (home-made or store-bought)
– Classico (brand) Spicy Red Pepper pasta sauce
– Green Bell Pepper, cut to preference (we like ours chunky)
– Part-skim mozzarella cheese (shredded)
– Apple Wood Smoked Gouda cheese (shredded)
– Apple Wood Smoked Bacon 

Preheat your oven to 425 Degrees Fahrenheit, then start by prepping your crust… in my case, I should have pre-baked the crust to help it get that flaky texture that we were aiming for.  While I was making the crust, Rah-rah fried the bacon and shredded the gouda.  Once your toppings are prepped, put your crust on a pizza-pan or stone, then spread a thin layer of pasta sauce on your crust.  Afterwards, sprinkle with cheese, add veggies and meat (make sure your meat is cooked through), then top with more cheese.  Bake for about 20 minutes or so.  Cooking times will vary based on the type of crust and thickness of your toppings. Just check it at 20 and let it cook longer if needed.

Serve hot and enjoy 🙂

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.

2 thoughts on “Experimental Pizza Night: Apple Wood Smoked

Comments are closed.