Monday Motivation: Reflections on quotes from BTHR

First and foremost, I’m going to give a big ole shout out to Cassie at Backtoherroots.com for posting today’s Monday Motivation. She captures great quotes and posts them right when I need to be reading them. Today’s quote was as follows: 

Bloom Where You Are Planted
backtoherroots.com

Bloom where you are planted.

This is a very good proverb to keep in mind.  You cannot always control the lot that life has given you but you can seek the sun and bloom anyway.  I didn’t know it at the time, but I really took this to heart over the last year in my career.  I was getting stagnant in my current position and yearned for change.  The positions I was applying for, though, were ones that I was simply not qualified for yet–I didn’t have the experience I needed to do the job.  So what did I do?  Well.. first I pouted for a little bit.. then I sulked.. and then I realized that I was only making things worse and I picked myself up and dusted my hands and said “You know what?  If I don’t have enough experience to get out of this position, then I am going to be the BEST person in this position–and I will raise my hand when the opportunity presents itself and I will go GET the experience I need to move on.”  And once I changed my attitude, it really worked.  That brings me to another (great and timely) Motivation Monday that Cassie posted: 

If you don't like something, change it.
backtoherroots.com

If you don’t like something – change it.  If you can’t change it – change your attitude.  ~Maya Angelou

Word.  I have spent the last year and more changing my attitude–being more humble at work, more open to feedback, more willing to bend, to change, to grow.  I have sought opportunities and volunteered where I had no experience.  I kept telling myself “This is the year.” and I’ve made it come true!  I started a new position today at work.  It’s a promotion with a raise, and it’s a new challenge to pursue.  It’s exciting and challenging and just… !!! I can’t believe it’s true.  I’m still training for it, but I keep hearing that I have such a good base.  They are impressed with how fast that we are getting through the materials because I already know quite a bit of the functions.  I would shine my nails on the shoulder of my shirt at this point if it weren’t for all that becoming humble business I’ve been practicing… So yes.  I have bloomed where I have been planted.

Head on over to backtoherroots.com to subscribe to Cassie’s blog, or if you like, you can just visit her Etsy shop to purchase professional prints of the images associated with the quotes and many more Monday Motivations.

