Posted in BTHR, Food, Menu Planning, New Food, Recipe

Goat Cheese, Lentil and Brown Rice Rolls

Goat Cheese, Lentil and Brown Rice Rolls by Giada De Laurentiis featured on Giada at Home on the Food Network.

Woo hoo! I’m continuing my adventures in new food with Goat Cheese, Lentils and Mint.  I think I’m going to add Brown Rice to my list of new foods because I hadn’t had it before the healthy eating program started at work last year… yep yep yep! 

Lessee… Mr. and Mrs. Roomie sorted out the lentils… had them cleaned and rinsed and simmering before I got home from work.  When I got home, I teamed up with Mrs. Roomie to finish up the rest of the meal.  The chard (‘nother new food!) that I bought on Sunday, though, was all limp and sad looking.  Awwe… poutface. My grandma taught me a trick, though, that you can re-crisp greens by putting them in ice water.  I went one step further and put them in ice water and then into the freezer while we took care of the other greens.  Mrs. Roomie chopped up the arugula and I chopped upEverybody in!the mint.  Gosh! It calls for half-cup of chopped mint and I honestly think it was way too much… Also–I think I bought brown lentils instead of green ones. Not sure what the difference is…

We mixed everything up in the bowl then pulled the chard out of the freezer… removed the center stem, sliced them in half, filled them with the mixture and rolled them up.  Popped them into the oven for about 30 minutes or so… and then stared at the mess of mixture that we had left over.

We used the ratios that were mentioned in the recipe, but we went wrong some where because we only had enough chard for 6 rolls but we had enough mix for about 2-3 more batches than the one we made. I tried to get creative by putting cheese on top and then popping that in the oven for a bit… but really, it didn’t work.  Mr. Roomie followed a waste-not-want-not idea and used the left over mixture as a chip-dip.  Hey! Whatever floats your boat, right? Now our house smells like a high-end Italian restaurant.. Yep–we’re the ones stinking up the building’s hallways. Guilty as charged and unashamed!  It was a delicious meal! 3 out of 4 roomies liked it.  Mrs. Roomie bought dinner from the gas station.

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.