Posted in Fitness, Food, Measurements, Self-Reflection

Wednesday Weigh In – August 24, 2011

So far: 221.8 – down .2lbs

This morning I tried someting new: Lavish – Dark Chocolate Old Fashioned Instant Oatmeal. I wrote keywords on a post-it note in between bites. The words I came up with included (in no particular order):

  • Chewy
  • Smooth
  • Tasty
  • Chocolaty
  • Satisfying
  • Filling

It was easy to prepare, just tear open the pouch, fill the pouch to the line with cool water, microwave for ~2 minutes in a microwave safe bowl. I may need to adjust the cooking time to account for the beefed up microwaves here at work, but overall, it worked well. If you’re interested in trying this for yourself, you can probably find it at your local grocery store. Rah-rah found this at Rainbow Foods in our neighborhood. Their website is [Here].

Also this morning, I found new respect for Jennifer Hudson. As a celebrity, I LOVED her because she was big, beautiful, happy and successful and she embraced her curves and showed what it was like to be fit and fat (in my humble opinion). When she started showing up on Weight Watchers commercials and bragging about losing 80 lbs, I quietly shook my head and lamented about another celebrity role model selling out. I had such adoration for her when she was overweight because she was just like me. If she can be happy and successful and in love as an overweight person, then there’s no reason for me to bow to the judgements that society puts on people who are overweight. I don’t have to eat carrot sticks exclusively, or pretend that I’m not hungry around other people when I actually am. Fat people get hungry too…..

Obviously, if Jennifer were skinny, I couldn’t identify with her anymore, right? Wrong. I don’t encourage you to go out and subscribe to SELF Magazine like I do, but see if your local library/fitness center/bookstore has it and read her interview. Or go to SELF’s [*cough-tacky!-cough*] website to read the article online [Here].

I figured, me walking is better than me sitting on the couch. Even if I can’t climb a mountain or do 100,000 push-ups, these steps matter, and they’re leading me somewhere. -Jennifer Hudson

YES! The first step is often times the hardest but every single one of them counts. This has been my mentality the whole time. Even though I may be losing weight slowly, I am getting healthier every day and with every good decision that I make.

You have to want it, but don’t rush yourself. When you’re ready, you’ll set goals for yourself. Once you do, it’s good to have support, but you don’t need it, because everything you need is in you. – Jennifer Hudson

[Jennifer Hudson Photo – source]

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Weigh In – August 24, 2011

  1. i LOVE that oatmeal. I make my overnight oats with that:
    chocolate oatmeal
    1 T. chocolate peanut butter from Peanut Butter & Company
    Splash of almond milk

    Let it all soak overnight and then cut up a nanner in the morning when i’m ready to eat it. super yummy/filling!

    1. That’s great 🙂 I haven’t tried overnight oats yet–I’m afraid they’d get spilled in the fridge! Thanks for keeping up on my blog, Tori 🙂

Comments are closed.