Posted in BTHR, Food, Menu Planning

Week 2: A Menu in Review

Just to forewarn you, this entry will be severly lacking in pictures.  I seem to have lost my own memory card and I can’t keep borrowing Mr. and Mrs. Roomie’s card.  I promise to go out and buy one after work today 🙂

When last I wrote (on Sunday,) I was regaling the tale of UV Cake and dancing like Sam B. with Mrs. Roomie.  It was a good time!  Sunday though was far less productive than I would’ve liked.  I got our patio cleaned up–I disposed of all of the failed gardening evidence, put the bike tires over the rail to save space, stacked the coolers and arranged a 4-person seating area with the surviving plants on a small table in the middle.  It’s quite serene!  I’m happy with it.  While that was an accomplishment for me, I never did do anything further to prep for dinner for the week. 

The weekly dinner menu is something that I’ve fallen into the habit of making.  I do not like to rush home from work only to get home and have 3 people standing around trying to figure out what to cook before they look at me for ideas or pick up the phone to order a pizza.  Before I started making the menu, we would have chicken + Lipton side + mixed veg from the freezer.  Done and done.  It’s still a staple, but now we’ve got more of a variety.  Although it can still change, and we still fall back on chicken + pasta + veg as a back-up plan, we’re spending less money on take out.

This week’s menu looks like this:

Monday: Cassie’s Buffalo Chicken Bites (second attempt to get this on the menu! It fell through last week)
Tuesday: Roast, slow cooked with carrots, russet potatoes and sweet potatoes. (Sweet deal at the grocery store… Roast, Carrots, Potatoes, Onion for something like $15?  There will be plenty of left-overs)
Wednesday: Chicken, Pasta, Veg – one pot wonder (Mr. Roomie is cooking and will season this up to taste pretty good.  We have all of the ingredients on hand so it didn’t make sense to waste money on a new recipe.)
Thursday: Baked “Fried” Chicken (We’ve got all of the ingredients for this as well.  I’ll probably serve it with either salad or mixed veggies or fruit)
Friday: Salad with Lasagna! (I listed it in this order because I think it’s important that the salad be the main course and the Lasagna be the side–it’s loaded with sauce and cheese and starch… not the healthiest item, but perhaps the tastiest.)

I never really plan meals for the weekend because our plans change so frequently.  I may be a spontaneous person, but for the most part, when I make plans I don’t like to change them or miss out on them.  I get all flustered and a little out-of-sorts for a little bit *sheepish grin*

So, last night, instead of making the bites, Mrs. Roomie used the oven to make Banana Bread.  That meant that the oven was not available for me to use for the bites.  I’m a pretty quick thinker, though, so I decided to cut the chicken into small pieces and set it to cook in a skillet.  While that was cooking, I diced up the red and green bell peppers and onion that were left over from another recipe.  We had sweet corn on the cob that was just waiting to be cooked, so I shucked that and removed the kernels from the cob and added it to the diced veg.  I had 3 chicken breasts to feed 4 adults and so to up the ante, so to speak, I opened up a can of black beans (and rinsed the bajeezus out of them) and added it to the mix.  I let all that simmer in a pan over medium heat until it was hot and then added lime juice.  I split the home-made salsa into 2 bowls and to 1 bowl, I added 2 chopped jalepeños.  I omitted the seeds, but Rah-rah said it was pretty mild, so I might include some seed next time.  When the chicken was almost done I added lime juice to that too and seasoned it with salt, pepper and garlic powder.  I served up the chicken + salsa on 8″ tortillas with shredded cheddar cheese.  1 was filling enough for a meal!  There is no chicken left over, but there’s plenty of salsa and cheese left.  I am thinking about tossing it in with some scrambled eggs to make a breakfast loaf…

What is on your dinner menu this week?  Do you have a back-up plan? If so, what is it?

Author:

Interests include: art, photography, fitness, strength training, health, wellness, netflix, gaming, reading, imgur, NerdFitness, parenthood, and fun.