Sweet Potato Chicken Soft Tacos

It started out innocently enough, we were going to make kabobs for dinner tonight, per the menu.  Well, then the skies got cloudy and kabobs turned into fajitas.
Usually, Mr. Roomie makes the fajitas because he has a way with tequila that just makes them so zippy and delicious… I wanted to cook tonight, though, so I took the reigns.  I diced up the chicken and got that cooking in a large skillet while he sliced up the green bell peppers, red bell peppers and onion.  I seasoned the chicken with chili powder, cayenne pepper, paprika and a sprinkle of the ‘house blend’ that I made for another recipe (black pepper, salt, garlic powder).

Things were cooking up and then Mr. Roomie got the idea to use up some of the sweet potatoes left over from a previous recipe.  At first we threw them in with the chicken to start cooking, but everything else was coming together faster.  I used tongs to remove the chicken and set it aside and then started getting crazy ideas for the sweet potatoes.  They were getting dry, see, and it needed some liquid.  I thought tequila would make sweet potatoes taste weird… I wanted something with a sweet spice.  I originally wanted brandy, but we don’t keep that in the house, so we hit it with a splash of Disaronno Amaretto.  It started smelling so good!  But then I got greedy.  😀  I added some ground cinnamon to the mix.  I needed to leave ’em be and cook, so I set a timer and walked away.

I sat down here to write about the experimentation, when suddenly it smelled like burnination! Oh noes!  I went to relieve the potatoes… As it turns out, though, the bottom just ended up caramelized and seemed to concentrate the cinnamon. Mr. Roomie and I were the first guinnea pigs.  The flavor was such that it was intriguing enough that we kept going back for more.  THEN! I decided that everything is better with honey and used sweet clover honey to dip it in.

Tonight’s dinner was a successful combination of flour tortillas, sweet potatoes, honey, chicken, onion, and red and green bell peppers. Definitely something I would do again.

